Everything you need to know about the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta

Gaming

We’re just days away from the start of the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta, and we’ve got all the details.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare will be hosting two beta weekends for players on PS4, Xbox One and PC. The beta will be a significant upgrade over the 2v2 Gunfight alpha in terms of content.

This will also be a more recent build of the game, so many of the issues players ran into in the alpha have been fixed. By the same token, you can expect a more robust settings menu, louder enemy footsteps, and more customisation options for players using mouse and keyboard on consoles.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta schedule

The schedule for the Modern Warfare beta is a bit convoluted, thanks to PS4 exclusivity and the fact some days are available for all players while others are limited to those with pre-orders. That said, we’ve broken it down into easy terms.

Each beta weekend is split into two portion: one exclusive to players who pre-ordered the full game, and another open to all for the rest of that weekend.

First weekend (PS4 exclusive)

The entirety of the first weekend is only available on PS4. The first segment takes place on Thursday, September 12 and Friday, September 13 – available only to players who pre-ordered the game.

Then, on Saturday, September 14 the beta goes open on PS4 until it wraps up on Monday, September 16.

Here’s when the action starts:

  • PS4 pre-order-only: Thursday at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST.
  • PS4 open beta: Saturday at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST.

Second weekend

The following weekend is when things get interesting. Not only will the beta be expanded to include PC and Xbox One players, PS4 players will also get another chance to play the beta.

Like the first weekend, the second test is also split into two legs. The first takes place on Thursday, September 19 and Friday, September 20 – available only to pre-order players on PC and Xbox One, and to everyone on PS4.

On Saturday, September 21 the beta opens up to players on all three platforms, regardless of pre-orders. The whole thing ends on Monday, September 23.

Here’s when the action starts:

  • PC/Xbox One pre-order-only and PS4 open: Thursday at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST.
  • All platforms open beta: Saturday at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta pre-load

The Modern Warfare beta client will be available to pre-load today (September 10) at around 10-11am PT, 1-2pm ET, 6-7pm BST, 7-8pm CEST.

How to get a code for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta

As previously explained, the Modern Warfare beta’s first two days of each weekend are exclusive to players who pre-ordered the full game. If your pre-order was made at retail, you should already have a code which you’ll need to redeem on the official Call of Duty site.

You’ll need to create an account if you don’t have one, and hit Redeem Code. You’ll then have to wait for the site to email you your platform’s actual beta code, which you can then redeem on the PlayStation Store/Xbox Store/Battle.net.

Keep in mind, the code you receive from your retailer is not your beta code, this is a token code that only works on the Call of Duty website.

You can also get the same code from online giveaways, and we’re planning to run one this week so keep your eyes peeled. Failing all that, you can just wait for Saturday of each weekend when the beta goes open.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta download size

Because the Modern Warfare beta pre-load has yet to go live for anyone, we’re still waiting on the actual download size. For reference, the 2v2 Gunfight alpha clocked in at 36GB, so expect this beta to be even bigger.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta PS Plus/Xbox Live Gold

The Modern Warfare beta does not require an active PlayStation Plus subscription. This goes for all weekends running on PS4. On Xbox One, however, you’re going to need a valid Xbox Live Gold subscription regardless of whether you’re playing the early access or open beta.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta content

The Modern Warfare beta offers significantly more content compared to the alpha. For starters, the 2v2 Gunfight mode will itself be part of the beta, alongside the more traditional 6v6 modes.

Infinity Ward also confirmed that modes with bigger player counts will be available in the beta, but we’re not sure what that means just yet. 10v10, 20v20 and beyond are all considered large by Call of Duty standards, so all three could be there. We’re hoping the even bigger 64 and 100-player modes will be present, too.

Infinity Ward said players can expect several of the game’s maps, but the exact count and map names have yet to be officially revealed. We do know, however, that maps and modes will be added in throughout the weekend, just like how things were with the Gunfight alpha.

Much of Modern Warfare’s new mechanics and features will be there as well, including the Gunsmith weapon customisation tool, a few killstreaks, field upgrades and perks.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare beta cross-play

Because the second Modern Warfare beta will be available on all platforms, cross-play will be enabled for players on PC, PS4 and Xbox One. Cross-play allows players on all three platforms to party up together, and face each other in matchmaking.

Matchmaking is decided based on input method. So if you’re playing with a controller – regardless of your platform – you’ll be matched with others who also use a controller. This also means mouse and keyboard players on consoles will be matched with PC players using the same control method.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare alpha to beta upgrade

Unfortunately, you won’t be able to update your existing Modern Warfare 2v2 Gunfight alpha download into the beta client. The two are completely separate, so you may as well remove the alpha from your system to save up some space.

We’ll update this story with more details throughout the week, so keep checking back.

Articles You May Like

Google Reveals Stadia Launch Lineup of 12 Games
Looking Back to 2004 and Sexy Models in Need for Speed: Underground 2
Pokémon Sword And Shield’s Wild Area Web App Is Now Live
Famitsu charts: Nintendo Switch family sold 88,772 units in Japan
It may not be a new Crysis, but Crytek’s latest is a free ray tracing benchmark tool

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *